Monday Awesome: goliath spider

This morning I read an article about the current warm and wet conditions in Australia leading to a population spike of common house spiders (and presumably, also, ones that don’t live in houses) here, which got me thinking about which spider is the biggest.

The all-powerful Google led me to this National Geographic video of the goliath bird eating spider (Theraphosa blondi) from South America. I’m not scared of spiders, but I do think I’d be pretty freaked out if I came across one of these.

goliath spider video

Leave a Reply

